Freight Service Awards now open for entry


Entries are now open for the British International Freight Association (BIFA) – – annual Freight Service Awards competition.

Now in their 33rd year, BIFA’s Freight Service Awards are open to all Members of the trade association, which represents UK companies engaged in the international movement of freight by all modes of transport.

As well as encouraging and rewarding high standards and professionalism, these awards, which are free to enter, also represent the ultimate recognition of special achievement in different sectors of the freight forwarding and logistics industry.

Sponsored by a number of blue chip companies, each of the eleven award categories is recognised as very prestigious and winning an award has become more coveted year-on-year.

The deadline for entry is Thursday, 7 October 2021 and entry forms can be downloaded from

Finalists will be announced towards the end of this year, with the winners being revealed at the BIFA Freight Service Awards ceremony on Thursday, 20 January 2022, which has become an annual event on the industry calendar, typically attracting more than 500 BIFA members and their guests.

Comments Robert Keen, Director General of BIFA: “The awards represent the chance for the best in the industry to be recognised by their peers, and every year the standards improve.

“In spite of the issues caused by the pandemic last year, the BIFA 2020 Awards were well supported by Members, culminating in an online awards ceremony. I sincerely hope that January 2022 will see a return to the traditional luncheon ceremony at our usual venue, The Brewery in central London, to celebrate the BIFA Awards 2021 competition.

“The disruption over the last year caused by the pandemic, EU-Exit, chaos in the container and airfreight sectors, among other issues, presented Members with multiple obstacles and the judges are expecting a bumper crop of entries detailing the inventive and innovative methods that forwarders have developed to meet those challenges.”

The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows:

General categories

Project Forwarding
Specialist Services
Staff Development
Supply Chain Management

Modal categories

Air Cargo Services
European Logistics
Ocean Services

Specialist categories

Cool & Special Cargoes
Extra Mile

Individual categories

Young Freight Forwarder of the Year
Apprentice of the Year

Sharon Hammond, BIFA’s Training, Media & Events Co-ordinator adds: “Some of the blue chip names secured as category sponsors include Albacore Systems, BoxTop Technologies, IAG Cargo, Peter Lole Insurance Brokers and TT Club, and whilst there are some sponsorship opportunities still available, these are disappearing fast.”

Further information relating to entries and sponsorship opportunities can be obtained by visiting the BIFA website

Keen concludes: “The awards are an important part of BIFA’s mission to encourage our Members in their pursuit of improved standards and excellence within the logistics and supply chain industry.”